Mango Tasting: Sweet Tart, Cac, Pickering

This week’s box was much more varied.  Of the 20+ varieties available to me, I researched and picked out the types that were either creamy/coconutty or famous Florida hybrids.  I also got some Asian varieties for their polyembryonic seeds that are supposedly easy to germinate and grow.

mangobox2

Sweet Tart:  This is one of the most celebrated of the Florida hybrids.  The smallest in the box, it completely lived up to its name.  The first taste was sweet, then you got hit in the face with a tart zing.  It wasn’t sour exactly, just really tart the way a lemon candy might make your mouth pucker.  It wasn’t my favorite!  Very juicy, extremely flavorful, this would be good if you really want to contrast the different taste profiles.

sweettart

Cac:  This Vietnamese mango was FANTASTIC.  Well over a pound, it was the second biggest mango in the box.  Its unassuming yellow-orange exterior and golden interior did nothing to let you know how rich and complex the flavor would be.  It reminded me of maple syrup!  Another juicy specimen, so make sure you have lots of napkins.  Polyembryonic seed is currently planted.

cac

Pickering: I’m so excited about this Florida variety because it has the coconut/creamy flavor profile that I love and its growth habit is favorable for container growing.  Different nurseries tout it as the smallest container mango, able to fruit in fewer years in just an 8″ diameter pot!  That said, the full-size fruit was the ugly duckling of the bunch, prone to spotting and a standard yellow coloring.  The goldenrod flesh is smooth, sweet, and juicy–I can’t wait to see if this grows for me.  Polyembryonic seed is currently planted.

pickering

Leave a comment